The sponsorship patches in the NBA are on the back burner

 

The sponsorship patches that was said to be in the works over the summer are definitely scrathed out for now, not because the Commisioner David Stern is against it…

As a personal matter, I am not in favor of it, but I’m not standing in the way of it,  If my board wabts to do it, we’ll do it… [NBA uniforms have] no information of the manufacturer and no sponsor, and that is something that I have worked hard to preserve for many decades.  But I understand that the time may have to come to consider it.  So we’re going to let the Board of Governors decide what to do.

the “Patch Project” has been shut down because the NBA owners cannot find a way to split the profits.  Yes, the owners cannot find an equitable way to distribute their greed in a way that will please every owner; let’s not forget that these were the same owners who said they were losing money, which was the reason why there was a lockout last season.  They were trying to look for more revenue streams…hence the patches, but now that they found a money-maker, they are fighting because they cannot share.

They wasn’t going to be able to bring the patches in for another year or two, but until the “Richie Riches” of the NBA find a way to play nice and learn how two split the money up, there will be a halt to the project.

I can’t say that I’m complaining, I don’t know if I can get used to the NBA uniforms looking like MLS uniforms. 

That’s just me.

Written by AG2

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

