Details on the Perkins murder / Belcher suicide

Perkins murderThe Kansas City Star has released new details on the Jovan Belcher murder/suicide story, the Chiefs’ linebacker who killed his girlfriend (and the mother of his baby daughter) before turning the gun on himself in front of Chiefs’ general manager Scott Pioli and coach Romeo Crennel.

The Star said Belcher kissed Kassandra Perkins on the forehead after shooting her to death Saturday morning. Belcher then apologized to his mother — who reportedly heard Belcher and Perkins argue before he said, “You can’t talk to me like that” and pulled the trigger — and kissed his daughter before leaving his house and heading to the Chiefs’ facility.

More from the Star:

 

As he covered the five miles from his home to the stadium, his violent act weighed on him, police believe.

“He probably realized he had done something and he couldn’t go back,” said Police Sgt. Richard Sharp.

In the parking lot of the practice facility at 1 Arrowhead Drive, Belcher encountered Chiefs General Manager Scott Pioli. Belcher stepped out of his Bentley with a gun pointed at his own head, police said.

“I did it,” he said, according to police. “I killed her.”

 

The club knew about the couple’s domestic issues and tried to help, but Belcher said it was too late to fix their problems. According to police, Belcher and Perkins had been arguing over financial and relationship issues and that the team had “bent over backward” to help them.

Pioli and Crennel tried to persuade Belcher to put down the gun, but he reportedly said, “Guys, I have to do this.” When he heard police sirens, he told Pioli, Crennel and Chiefs linebacker coach Gary Gibbs that he had to go. Belcher then reportedly kneeled behind a vehicle, crossed himself and shot himself.

Autopsies have been performed on both bodies, but it will be weeks before the toxicology reports are available.

“On behalf of the Perkins Family, we appreciate the outpouring of love and concern for our Kassandra ‘Kasi’ Perkins. Our hearts are truly broken for Kasi was a beloved daughter, granddaughter, sister, mother, cousin and friend.…” the Perkins family said in a statement released on Facebook.

“Please keep us in your hearts and prayers as well as the Belcher family for two lives were loss. Again we thank you for your support, our wish is for Kasi to be remembered for the love she shared with us all. Kasi will be truly missed!”

3 thoughts on “Details on the Perkins murder / Belcher suicide

  1. I would just like to say to this website you may have your invested interest in the Sports Figures you represent but we as Mothers of MURDERED children represent our deceased with The God of all Justice that lead us. Now you may have felt stung by my comment you refused to post because I choose and will never stand on the side of no Murderer I would not care if he or she is the celebrity of all the gods and goddesses that you people crown and fawn all over. What don’t you get about MURDER AND GUN VIOLENCE IT IS WRONG and at the beginning as well as at the end of the day, I AM A MOTHER and as and Advocate having lost a son to this spirit of MURDER myself…I said it and It still stands as all truth does…Belcher your shining sports figure bullied to death a defenseless baby who was a baby herself in front of his own baby in the sight of God Murderering her in the full force of his rage emptying his clip 9 times shooting her- is it any wonder? the police found him with the different gun he used to killing himself with cause of course the one he callously of the most selfish intent he MURDERED her with he emptied all the bullets out of….INTO HER! So you can take that and cover up your boyz with the ball I have other avenues…I surely am and ADVOCATE AGAINST MURDER NOT FOR IT!!!

    • Good morning, I would like to start of this reply by giving my condolences for the lost of your son to gun violence; I don’t know the details but the fact of the matter is that you lost your son and I am sorry to hear that and I pray that God gives you comfort to you and your family.

      You will never have to worry about GWS refusing to post ANYTHING, whether good or bad, this is a place I use to put my thoughts in print and I love to hear responses on what I put down, to hear different sides of a story. I might see a different side of a story that I didn’t think of and will give credit when credit’s due. I will even accept post that are extremely out of bounds, whether it’s racial, anti-semetic or just plain dumb because if you are bold enough to use your “keyboard courage” to state the stupid, I’m going to let the whole world see just how ignorant you are; your reply is definitely not the case.

      I don’t know if your reply is a universal message that you have sent to ALL sport webbies who posted something about the Belcher murder/suicide, but please understand this…Sports is a hobby to me, not my life. I use sports for what it is, entertainment and nothing but. I have a wife and children that I work long hours at jobs to support and take care of “my jewels” and even with them long hours, I still find time to spend with them and will put sports on the back burner.

      I don’t idolize sports figures, I stated in a vid on YouTube that I do not own one piece of clothing that adorns a name of a player nor do I seek autographs from any athlete because I don not put any athlete on a pedestal and I don not think they are better than anybody else, they just do that what they do well and get paid for it. Please understand that sports is just a release from the everyday grind for me, it is just entertainment that I like and talk/write about.

      Now on the Belcher stories here on the GWS blog site, you NEVER read about me giving respect to Belcher at all. I just wrote the info and the details of the story. To tell you the truth, I can’t stand what he done to destroy families involved. I don’t condone a man putting their hands on a woman and this individual shot an unarmed woman, let alone the mother of his beautiful baby girl NINE TIMES; like you said, he unloaded a clip on her…he was so enraged that he inflicted unmentionable pain and killed a woman who was to take care and raise their little girl that was just brought into this world.

      I can go on, but I will end this reply by stating that in the first story I wrote about this situation (Tragedy in Kansas City), I ended it by giving credit to the Kansas City Chiefs organization for giving a moment of silence before the game to “unnamed victims of domestic violence”, not to the man who committed a murder who happens to be on their team. I have no respect for Jovan Belcher and if it seems like I do with what I wrote then I apologize for that and I will do my best to express my thoughts better.

      Have a Blessed day!

  2. Wow I am actually amazed with the intelligent response and one of compassion someone would take out of their day in the time we live in society now to not( berate and belittle) us little people mother’s who are suffering the worst of the worst as it be, losing our children and so many other loved ones to violence in this sickness of hatred. Sometimes you forget someone can actually show a word of the kindness of encouragement that has the power to uplift and it is a refreshing change instead of the same old ruthless sentiment that it is our loved ones fault for being murdered. Life is the most precious gift given to anyone and when it is taken by murder it is the ultimate in anguish and lament the heart will ever feel. So Son thank you and may God use you to be a message that there is no preferential treatment when it comes to elite or just common so & so on the street. I just feel people should place themselves in the place of a victim for about 10 seconds or so and try imagining the horror of someone cornering you and you fully aware realizing “You are about to die” and before you can try to rationalize WHY????next thing you are PAINFULLY cut-up and shot-up to death into eternity. The murder victims Blood always cries still from the ground for an answer To WHY MUST IT COME TO THIS? And selfish Evil brutality always has the same answer ANGER & JEALOUSY. So Mother’s are just tired now and just want some relief from Justice’s Tree of “I Care” realizing that can mean so much when far to many just do not

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

