Was Ray Lewis’ “Closing Number” too much?

It seems two NFL players who came from the University of Miami don’t see eye-to-eye with a “solo number” at the end of the Colts-Ravens game during Wild Card Weekend.

Linebacker Ray Lewis may have rubbed some people the wrong way Sunday after performing his signature dance on the M&T Bank Stadium field as time expired in the Baltimore Ravens’ 24-9 victory over the Indianapolis Colts.  Lewis’ solo number particularly drew the ire of Colts wide receiver Reggie Wayne.

“I saw it as disrespectful,they’d already had a tribute every quarter.”

But Lewis isn’t apologizing, saying Tuesday that the dance wasn’t about Wayne or the Colts.

Lewis said that he loved Wayne to death. Additionally, Lewis and Colts coach Chuck Pagano are close, with Pagano spending the previous four seasons in Baltimore (as a defensive coordinator).

It wasn’t about them at that time, that was about capping off a heck of a legacy for 17 years that when he was in Pop Warner playing football, I was in Baltimore. I guess the trot around the field was disrespectful, too? No. It wasn’t even about [Indy]. The game was over. Triple zeros; it was over. I didn’t go towards their sideline and make no big issue of that, because I have never been that type of player.

Reggie will tell you how much I love him, and it was never nothing personal between him and the Colts, I texted Chuck immediately after the game and told him how much I care for him, how much I love him. It wasn’t even about them. It was about me honoring my team and honoring my city.

What do you think about the dance finale, was it too much or did you just sit back and enjoy it for the last time?  Let us know.

Video by Jeffrey Wilson

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

