OKC Durant made Marcin Gortat name relevant

You know when quiet, mild-mannered Kevin Durant takes over a game…you can’t do anything but watch and try not to be awed.

Kevin Durant scored 27 of his 41 points in the second half and the Oklahoma City Thunder became the NBA’s first 30-game winner of the season with a 102-90 victory over the Phoenix Suns on Monday night.

Durant sank pull-up jumpers, added a couple of 3-pointers, made a handful of layups, then punctuated his night with a spectacular dunk over the Suns’ Marcin Gortat for a three-point play.

 

 

John Rohde of The Oklahoman quoted Gortat after the game:

“The funny thing is that when (Kendrick) Perkins was standing under the basket he looked at me and I looked at him and he said, ‘I know how it feels.’ He said, ‘Guards left you on the island huh?’ and I said, ‘Yeah.’ Listen, it happens. I am not going to deny that was probably the top three dunks of the year. Right? I mean at least I am going to be out there. I mean, I am just going to try to be silly about it. I am not going to cry. It is just part of the game.”

”I ain’t going to deny it. That was probably one of the top three dunks of the year,” Gortat said. ”At least I’m going to be out there. I’m just going to try to be silly about it. I’m not going to cry. It’s just part of the game. I already knew what was going on when he took off. I didn’t lift my hands up. I just tried to get out of the picture and at least smile.”

Now that is a true player who plays the game like it’s supposed to be played, with the right attitude and effort; not worrying how he’s gonna look (on that poster).

I’m just saying.

 

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

