Cookie Monster and Metta, I don’t know what else to say…

MWP - Lakers

Any news that involves a 6’7″ professional basketball player who changed his name from  Ron Artest to Metta World Peace (his spiritual reasoning for the name change was to inspire and bring youth together all around the world), who had the longest suspension for an on-court incident in NBA history (86 games for the “Malice at the Palace” when he played for the Indiana Pacers), who during his rookie season in Chicago, he was criticized for applying for a job at Circuit City in order to get an employee discount…you would think you heard it all and nothing new can shock you.

Well, MWP is gonna try.

The police was called to Metta World Peace’s house earlier this week after some actors, one of whom is related to him, started “playing” with fake guns after they rehearsed a scene for a movie. A lot of cops showed up to the house, and they had to wake up Metta.

From the L.A. Times, here’s Metta’s side of it.

“I’m in my underwear and my son says, ‘Hey dad, there’s police at the door,'” World Peace said in an interview with The Times after the Los Angeles Lakers beat the Boston Celtics on Wednesday evening. “So I jump out, I’m nervous. I see these police with rifles and scopes.

“I’m like, ‘What happened?’ I don’t know what’s going on at this point. ‘What happened, what happened?’ And then the police was like, ‘The building is being taken over by guys downstairs.'”

The men explained the situation to the police, who then knocked on World Peace’s door to verify their story.

“At first when I seen the police, I was like, ‘What the hell is going on?” World Peace said. “I just got finished watching Zero Dark Thirty or whatever that movie is. I’m like, ‘I’m dreaming, I’m dreaming. Is there a terrorist in the building? Do y’all need my help?'”

After a brief conversation with the police, World Peace put on his Cookie Monster pajamas and accompanied them outside.

World Peace was shocked by what he saw.

“Like 20 cops’ cars are outside, like 10 more police,” he said. “My brother had his hands behind his back and [there were] helicopters. The whole Wilshire [Blvd.] was shut down. The street shut down. No cars nowhere.”

World Peace said that once the police realized that the suspects were actors, and that their guns were BB guns, the mood lightened.

“The police was laughing,” he said. “It was funny but it was irresponsible on the actors’ part because you do the scene and that’s it. They didn’t understand that after you do the scene, you put the stuff away.”

Cookie Monster PajamasOkay, I don’t know if I should laugh or just shake my head…or both.  Metta goes to the police in Cookie monster pajamas and ask if they need his help with individuals who they believe to have guns?  What the hell are YOU going to do Metta?

The actors were playing around with a fake shotgun and two fake 9-millimeters. I’d call the cops, too.

Like I said, just when you thought you heard it all with Ron Ar…I mean Metta World Peace, he pull out something new to keep you on your feet.

 

 

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

