Rapper Jay-Z adds another sports element to his empire.

Roc Nation logo

Jay-ZEarly Tuesday morning, Roc Nation, LLC, (an entertainment company founded by rapper Shawn Carter, better known as Jay-Z) announced that they are going into the sports business; they are starting Roc Nation Sports (they will be partnering with Creative Artists Agency that have Carmelo Anthony, Ryan Braun and Robert Griffin III as clients).

It was announced after New York Yankees second baseman Robison Cano was leaving agent Scott Boras of Boras Corp. to become the first client of RNS.

Cano released a statement on the Roc Nation website.

Robinson Cano - YankeesAt this point in my career, I am ready to take a more active role in my endeavors both on and off the field,” said Cano, ”I am confident that the pairing of Roc Nation Sports and CAA Sports will be essential in helping me accomplish my short- and long-term goals.  I am making this important decision now so I can keep my focus on helping the Yankees succeed in 2013, while minimizing any distractions for me and my teammates.

As this seems to be a great move for Roc Nation officially making its entrance into the world of representing baseball players at this time, there might be a conflict of interest if Jay-Z chooses to gain certification as a basketball agent and represent players in the NBA based on his concurrent partial ownership of the NBA’s Brooklyn Nets.Jay-Z and Nets

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

