Update on the 2013 Naismith Hall of fame inductees

Naismith B-Ball Hall of Fame logo


University of Louisville coach Rick Pitino is expected to be selected for enshrinement into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

The official announcement will be at 11 a.m. Monday in Atlanta. The 60-year-old Pitino could become the first coach to win NCAA national titles at two schools later that day.

Kentucky won one of its eight NCAA titles in 1996 under Pitino.

Pitino guided the Cardinals to their 10th Final Four appearance and the third in his 12 seasons at the helm. The Cards take on Wichita State Saturday and if they win would face the winner of Syracuse-Michigan on Monday night.

According to sources, former University of Houston coach Guy Lewis, former UNLV and Fresno State coach Jerry Tarkanian and NBA defensive specialist Gary Paytonย also made the Hall.

The Hall of Fame in February had named 12 finalists for 2013. Finalists needed votes from 18 of 24 members of the Honors Committee to be selected.

The 2013 finalists:

Players: Maurice Cheeks, Tim Hardaway, Spencer Haywood, Bernard King, Gary Payton, Mitch Richmond and women’s player Dawn Staley.

Coaches: Rick Pitino, Tom Heinsohn, Guy Lewis, Jerry Tarkanian and women’s coach Sylvia Hatchell.


*Enshrinement ceremonies are Sept. 8 in Springfield, Mass.



DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s