Darrell Wallace Jr. is first African-American to win in Truck Series

Darrell Wallace Jr. - NASCAR

Darrell Wallace Jr. had a great and historic day in Martinsville, VA; the Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender won the Kroger 200, becoming the first African-American driver to find Victory Lane in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

Also with this win, Wallace Jr. becomes the first African-American driver to win a NASCAR national touring series event since Wendell Scott won in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series on Dec. 1, 1963.

Darrell Wallace Jr. - NASCAR 2“This (win) means everything; this is an emotional win for me, especially doing it in Wendell Scott’s backyard. I love coming here to Martinsville, it’s always good to me. It finally paid off. I think it’s my third trip here. I love coming here, the fans are great here and we always put on great races. I had to do some muscling there at the end and get around Ty (Dillon) and keep away from (Kevin) Harvick, so we dodged a few bullets in the race and this is awesome.

“I had so much confidence coming into this race, and I told my guys that I did, and I told everybody that asked if I was going to win I said, ‘Hell yeah’ every time.”

One thought on “Darrell Wallace Jr. is first African-American to win in Truck Series

DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

