Marcus Mariota wins 2014 Heisman Trophy

Courtesy of Julio Cortez (AP Photo)

Courtesy of Julio Cortez (AP Photo)

It was a great week for Marcus Mariota.  On Thursday, the Oregon Ducks quarterback won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Davey O’Brien Award for the nation’s best quarterback and the Maxwell Award, given to college football’s best player.  Mariota ended this incredible week of his college football career with being awarded the Heisman Trophy in New York City on Saturday, becoming the 80th player to win the prestigious award.

The Hawaiian-native is the first Oregon player to the top honor in college football and it wasn’t even close.  Mariota won in a landslide when it came to voting.  The junior received 90.9 percent of the possible points, second highest ever behind Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith (91.6) in 2006.  Mariota accumulated 788 first place votes; closest candidate was Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper with 49.

Some college fans believe Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon was snubbed.  The Kenosha, WI native had one of the greatest individual seasons for a running back in college football history.  Gordon led the nation in rushing yards (2,336) and touchdowns (26) and was the fastest player in FBS history to rush for 2,000 yards in a season.  The Doak Award winner also became the first running back in over a decade to break LaDamian Tomlinson’s record for rushing yards in a game when he rushed for 408 yards in three quarters against Nebraska on November 11.

Gordon’s accomplishment was watered down just a week later when Oklahoma freshman running back Samaje Perine rushed for 427 yards against Kansas.  What also hurt Gordon’s chances for the Heisman was the annihilation of the Badgers by the Ohio State Buckeyes in the Big Ten Championship where he gained 76 yards rushing and averaged a puny 2.9 yards per carry.

Courtesy of Paul Connors/AP Photo

Courtesy of Paul Connors/AP Photo


Mariota passed for 3,783 yards, 38 touchdowns and two interceptions.  Mariota led the Ducks to a 12-1 record, a Pac-12 Championship and a berth in the inaugural College Football Playoff.



DON'T LEAVE without speaking your mind...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s